| Main |

Winter begins in Yelm today @ 3:11am


Photo courtesy Victoria Harper Parsonson,
taken Thanksgiving Eve, November 24, 2010 from Yelm’s Bald Hill Rd area

Winter Solstice
Dec. 21, 2012, 6:11 AM EST (11:11 UT), marks the solsticethe beginning of winter in the Northern Hemisphere and summer in the Southern Hemisphere [that’s 3:11 AM PST, Yelm]

By Ann-Marie Imbornoni in Infoplease:
“In astronomy, the solstice is either of the two times a year when the Sun is at its greatest distance from the celestial equator, the great circle on the celestial sphere that is on the same plane as the earth’s equator. In the Northern Hemisphere, the winter solstice occurs either December 21 or 22, when the sun shines directly over the tropic of Capricorn; the summer solstice occurs either June 20 or 21, when the sun shines directly over the tropic of Cancer. In the Southern Hemisphere, the winter and summer solstices are reversed.”
Read more

Posted by Steve on December 21, 2012 at 12:01 am | Permalink

Post a comment

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

The comments are closed.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Archives

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com