| Main |

Yelm-area voters’ 2018 Ballot choices after Filing Week closed last Friday

– UPDATE: May 24, 2018
“Where did all the Republicans go?”
By The Olympian Editorial Board
Read more

– Editor’s note:
With the conclusion of candidate filing week last Friday, Thurston County Auditor Mary Hall’s office has complied the list of who stepped-up to serve in representing Thurston County constituents in the November 2018 election.
No Yelm City Hall seats are up for election this year.

– From the Office of Thurston County Auditor Mary Hall
Candidates of note for most SE Thurston voters are as follows:
* Assessor: Incumbent Steven J. Drew, Democrat
Challenger Tim Oliver, Independent

* Auditor: Incumbent Mary Hall, Democrat
Challenger Stuart Holmes, Independent

* Clerk: Incumbent Linda Enlow, Democrat
Running unopposed

* Commissioner, District No. 3: Incumbent Bud Blake, Independent
Challengers Melissa Denton, Tye Menser, Jed Haney, Independent

* Coroner: Incumbent Gary Warnock, Democrat
Running unopposed

* Prosecuting attorney: Incumbent Jon Tunheim, Democrat
Challenger Victor M. Minjares, Democrat

* Sheriff: Incumbent John Snaza, Independent
Running unopposed

* Treasurer: Incumbent Jeff Gadman, Democrat
Running unopposed

* District Court, Position 1: Incumbent Judge Kalo Wilcox, nonpartisan seat
Running unopposed for the nonpartisan seat.

* District Court, Position 2: Incumbent Judge Sam Meyer, nonpartisan seat
Running unopposed

* District Court, Position 3: Incumbent Judge Brett Buckley, nonpartisan seat
Running unopposed

* Public Utility District, District No. 1: Incumbent Linda Oosterman, nonpartisan seat
Challenger Andrew Saturn

State Legislature
* District No. 2: Reps. Andrew Barkis and J.T. Wilcox, both incumbent Republicans.
Challenger Anneliese Field, Democrat, for the Position 1 seat held by Barkis,
No challenger for Wilcox

Supreme Court
* Position 2: Incumbent Susan Owens, nonpartisan seat
Challenger (Zamboni) John Scannell

* Position 8: Incumbent Steve Gonzalez, nonpartisan seat
Challenger Nathan Choi

* Position 9: Incumbent Sheryl G. McCloud, nonpartisan seat
Challenger Stanley I. Lippmann

* 10th District: Incumbent U.S. Rep. Denny Heck, Democrat.
Challengers: Republican Joseph Brumbles, Nancy Dailey Slotnick of the Independent Centrist Party, Tamborine Borrelli of the Independent Progressive Party.

U.S. Senator
Incumbent Maria Cantwell, Democrat.
29 challengers have filed:
Republicans: Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Keith Swank, Dave Bryant, Ron Higgins, RC Smith, GoodSpaceGuy, Matthew D. Heines, Joey Gibson, Glen R. Stockwell, Art Coday, Matt Hawkins, Tim Owen, John Orlinski and Susan Hutchison;

Democrats: Clint R. Tannehill, Mohammad Said, Don L. Rivers and George H. Kalberer;

Independents: Charlie R Jackson, Jon Butler, Dave Strider, Jennifer Gigi Ferguson and Thor Amundson; and Steve Hoffman of the FreedomSocialist Party, Sam Wright of The Human Rights Party, Alex Tsimerman of the StandupAmerica Party, James Robert “Jimmie” Deal of the Green Party, Brad Chase of the FDFR Party and Mike Luke, a Libertarian.
Read more from the Auditor’s report.

Posted by Steve on May 21, 2018 at 12:01 am | Permalink

Post a comment

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

By submitting a comment you grant Yelm Community Blog a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate and irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin’s discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.



Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com